DRIVE-THRU & CURBSIDE PICK-UP SERVICE AVAILABLE!
(Drive-thru entrance located on Rt 208 between 1st Presbyterian Church & Rt 94)
HOME DELIVERY SERVICE AVAILABLE!
Call (845-496-5483 x324) or email (moffat@rcls.org) for assistance.


Our ONLINE SERVICES are available 24/7 at home or on the go!
Additional content is added regularly. So check back here often!


Moffat Library of Washingtonville
6 West Main Street
Washingtonville, New York 10992
Phone: (845)496-5483
Restored. Renewed. Reimagined.
GET LIBBY E-BOOK APP!
VIDEO STREAMING 24/7
CONSUMER REPORTS
NICHE ACADEMY LEARNING
LOG YOUR READING
LIBRARY CARD SIGN-UP
HOME DELIVERY SIGN-UP
SIGN- UP FOR OUR NEWS
RECOMMEND A TITLE

Great Beginnings Book Club

Date/Time
Date(s) - Thursday, November 10
7:30 pm - 9:00 pm

Categories


[SPECIAL DATE] Thursday, November 10 at 7:30 pm at the library. [SPECIAL DATE]

Due to Election Day on Tuesday, November 8, the Great Beginnings Book Club will meet on a Thursday rather than its normal Tuesday.

Scroll all the way down to the bottom of the page to register for the event.

The Great Beginnings Book Club meets on the second Tuesday of every month at 7:30 pm.

Moderated by John Donaldson.

New members are always welcome!


Our November 10th meeting features March, books one and two, by John Lewis.

A vivid and remarkable graphic novel depiction of John Lewis’s participation in the American Civil Rights Movement.

The late congressman John Lewis was a leader and icon of the Civil Right Movement. From impoverished beginnings as an Alabama sharecropper’s son to the halls of Congress, Lewis participated in many of the crucial struggles for racial equality in the 1950s and 1960s. Book One of March focuses on Lewis’s early life, his life-changing meeting with Martin Luther King, Jr., the successful sit-in protests of the Nashville Student Movement, and the organization of the Freedom Rides. Book Two takes up the next stage of the Civil Rights Movement with the formation of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee and the 1963 March on Washington, culminating in King’s “I Have A Dream” speech. March is illustrated by Eisner Award-winning artist Nate Powell.

Book Three, which we are not reading for this month’s discussion, focuses on Lewis’s efforts to register African Americans to vote in Mississippi, Freedom Summer, and the maneuvering at the 1964 Democratic National Convention to seat black delegates from Mississippi. It ends with Lewis’s reflections on the election of Barack Obama and the legacy of the Civil Rights Movement. Readers who enjoyed Books One and Two are encouraged to finish the trilogy.

Copies of March, books one and two, will be reserved at Moffat Library between October 11th and November 10th. You can also obtain a copy on your own at the links below. Note that some titles may not be available in every format. Please feel free to reach out to moffat@rcls.org if you are having difficulty getting a copy.

In our main catalog

Borrow a digital copy


This program will be run as a hybrid physical/virtual meeting. All registrants will receive the Zoom link in advance, but you are welcome to join us in person.

In-person space is limited. Please register online at: https://moffatlibrary.org/events-calendar/ or call (845) – 496 – 5483 ext. 325 if you have any questions or need assistance registering for this event.

2022 – 09 – GBBC – Autumn

Bookings

Bookings are closed for this event.